The slow painful death of TopGear?


Top Gear (2002 TV series)

Top Gear (2002 TV series) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Topgear was long a favourite programme of mine. My Dad, brothers and I would all watch it on Sunday nights  and when we next saw each other we would dissect the previous show and of course banter each other over the best cars and cool versus uncool cars. The invincible Hilux was an awesome stunt.

 

It was probably about four years ago it started falling apart for me, the stunts became more unrealistically elaborate (crossing the gobe desert on 1litre of camel urine in the tank or something equally crazy) and frankly repetitive. I was a huge fan of the old school TopGear, where they would evaluate cars, show insider car geek stuff and wow us with their cool home DIY.  I was also a fan of the ‘Star in a reasonably priced car’ regular piece. The TopGear show was in Australia recently and while a few years ago I would have done anything to attend, this time it did not even sit on my radar properly.

So it is for me very much unsurprising to see the slow downfall of TopGear. This article resonates to me with Paul Henry, the silly TV execs give the producers/hosts too much latitude and the boundaries are pushed too far.

So goodbye TopGear, may you try to leave gracefully, do not draw this death out for too long…..

 

Leave a Reply

